Supporting communities forum homelessness working group communiqué

On Wednesday, 10 November 2021 the Supporting Communities Forum Homelessness Working Group convened to address one of the four priorities of the Supporting Communities Forum, the implementation of ‘All Paths Lead to a Home: Western Australia’s 10-Year Strategy on Homelessness 2020-2030’ (the Strategy).


The three co-chairs of the Working Group, Mike Rowe, Director General Department of Communities; Debra Zanella, CEO Ruah Community Services; and Tina Pickett, Managing Director Noongar Mia Mia are working with members from community services organisations, peak bodies and government agencies to actively drive and promote the work of the Strategy and the associated Action Plan 2020-2025. At the meeting, the group agreed to engage people with lived experience of homelessness in this work.

Terms of Reference

The Working Group discussed the Terms of Reference and priorities, agreeing that the group will primarily oversee implementation of the Strategy and the Action Plan 2020-2025. The Department of Communities will provide an update about the progress of actions under the Action Plan for discussion and review at the next meeting. Appropriate governance structures for oversight will be established. More information about the Strategy and the Action Plan 2020- 25 is available here.

The Working Group also discussed the delineation of roles and functions with other advisory bodies, such as the Western Australian Council on Homelessness (WACH) which provides advice to the Minister about homelessness, particularly in regard to emerging issues. The Working Group is committed to working in a visible and transparent manner. More information about the Homelessness Working Group can be found at the Supporting Communities Forum website. Information will be updated regularly as work progresses and as meetings occur.

The Working Group will meet on a quarterly basis, in alignment with the Supporting Communities Forum schedule. The next meeting is scheduled for February 2022. A date is to be confirmed.

Key Outcomes: 22 November 2022

1. Terms of Reference – adopted with strengthened language.

| Complete.

2. Membership – seeking representation from other government agencies and organisations, people with lived experience.

| In progress.

3. Role and purpose of Working Group – agreed as driving implementation the Homelessness Action Plan 2020-2025.

| Complete.

4. Operational details – agreed quarterly meetings, decision making by consensus, regular communiques.

| Complete.

5. Key deliverables – agreed to develop status report of items in Action Plan with forward looking implementation timeline.

| In progress.

Homelessness Working Group Membership

Debra Zanella Ruah Community Services
Tina Pickett Noongar Mia Mia
Mike Rowe Department of Communities
Jennifer McGrath Mental Health Commission
Kate Chaney Anglicare
Emma Jarvis Palmerston
Julie Waylen Diversity South
Sandy McKiernan Youth Advisory Council of Western Australia
Lorna Pritchard Lotterywest
John Berger WA Alliance to End Homelessness
Michelle Mackenzie Shelter WA
Sam Drury St Bart’s
Salim Youssef Ministerial Multicultural Advisory Council
Mark Petrich Department of Health
Kylie Maj Department of Justice